The three tests

dattaswami2's picture

No votes yet

The three tests

Love for God is called devotion (Bhakti). Love for worldly things is called love (Prema). The basic meaning is same for both love and devotion. There are three strongest worldly chains.

1) Love between husband and wife.

2) Love for children.

3) Love for money.

These three bonds are called ‘Eshanas’. God competes with these three bonds in His tests. One cannot reach even the outer gate of God if one fails in these three tests.

— Shri Dattaswami