Average: 4 (2 votes)

Swami Vivekananda employed his oratory for propagating, from one end of the world to the other, the philosophy of Sri Ramakrishna which is the philosophy of practical Vedanta and oneness of humanity; he exercised his executive power for planning and moulding the spiritual ministration and he gave the widest freedom to his muse to pen the following lines which were originally in Bengali and its English translation is as below :-

Ay, born heir to the Infinite thou art,
Within thy heart is the ocean of Love,
Give, give away---whoever asks return,
His ocean dwindles down to a mere drop.

From highest Brahman to the yonder worm,
And to the very minutest atom,
Everywhere is the same God, the All-Love;
Friend, offer mind, soul, body, at His Feet.

There are His manifold forms before thee,
Rejecting them, where seekest thou for God?
Who loves all beings, without distinction,
He indeed is worshiping best his God.

banana's picture

What is "Insiration"?

What is "insiration" - I don't know such a word in English.

What exactly do you mean by Vedanta? Vedanta is the end of vedas and there are six vedantas which some contradict the other. Which one do you refer to?

banana | Sun, 11/08/2009 - 22:03

It is inspiration

Thank you for pointing out mistake. It's spelling mistake and exact word is 'INSPIRATION'. It happens due to missing of p from the word.
Vedanta means gist of the of Vedas. Vedanta is the consummation of Veda. Vedanta means what's the peak of Veda, what is the last of Veda; which is highest philosophy of Vedas. Vedanta comprises of two words through the sandhi(synthesis) rule of Sanskrit and Hindi grammars that is Veda+anta=Vedanta. Anta means the last, end or gist. In Sanskrit its meaning is "VID GYAANEY, VIDANTI ANENETIVEDAH". Veda means knowledge, sacred knowledge.
Vedagya means well vesed in Vedas. Vedan means perception, knowledge, enjoyment, medicine removing senselessness. Vedanaa means pain; feeling of pleasure and pain (reference to Vipassana).
Veda has 4 Samhitas which means Veda is 4 kinds (4 Vedas)----1. Rig Veda, 2. Yajur Veda, 3. Saama Veda, 4. Atharva Veda. There are 6 auxiliaries of Veda (Vedaang) which means associated Branches of Veda----1. Shiksha, 2. Kalp, 2. Vyaakaran, 3. Nirukt, 4. Chhandas, 5. Jyotish.

I feel, with six vedantas you are referring to six schools of ancient philosophies of India called 'DARSHANAS" which are stated as---1. Brahma-Sutra (Poorva Mimaansaa), 2. Yoga, 3. Neyaaya, 4.Vaisheshic, 5. Sankya, 6. Uttar Mimaansaa (karmakaand). These are not contradictory but in reality these have been complementary to each other (if studies have to be conducted proper institute); just as sociology to political science or chemistry and mathematics have been complementary to physics etc.
Further, Vedanta is eightfold but hereby I am to submit only general stuff of Vedanta which is ----'The system of philosophy based on the Upanishads=Brahmasutra and also it is spoken as PRASTHAANATRYA comprising of all these three- 1. Brahmasutra, 2. Upanishads, 3. Gita.
My reference is harmony of all these as well as seeking harmony among all global religions, cultures and civilizations etc. on the bases of truth.

NIDHI PARKASH | Mon, 11/09/2009 - 16:09