The Way of White Magician

joejo's picture

Average: 5 (1 vote)

1. Before I begin to write on fourth way I must express my gratitude to Mr Gurdjieff and clarify that I do not follow or represent any Tradition. Yet today I want to repudiate the deception that Gurdjieff spread about India concerning the Way of a Yogi. As I have brought out in my earlier blog

that Gurdjieff divides the ways into three traditional ways and claims that his is the Fourth Way. The three ways dealing with body, emotions and mind according to him are:

a). The way of the fakir.
b). The way of the monk.
c). The way of the yogi.

2. He also felt that:

"Even if you found schools you would find only 'philosophical' schools," he said. "In India there are only 'philosophical' schools. It was divided up in that way long ago; in India there was 'philosophy,' in Egypt 'theory,' and in present-day Persia, Mesopotamia, and Turkestan—'practice.'"
"And does it remain the same now?" I asked.
"In part even now," he said. "But you do not clearly understand what I mean by 'philosophy,' 'theory,' and 'practice.' These words must be understood in a different way, not in the way they are usually understood.
(Chapter One Page 22 In Search of Miraculous)

3. Those who are familiar with Indian tradition know that the ways here are divided into four and the way of the yogi corresponding to what Gurdjieff described, does not exist. I want to give my understanding of the eight fold path of Patanjali Ashtanga Yoga to show that the later is truly a way of White Magician.

4. All quotes are taken from and in case of any conflict my views may be discarded as I claim to be no authority but am providing a new (old wine in new bottle) interpretation.

5. To begin with, "II 29. yama-niyama-asana-pranayama-pratyhara-dharana-dhyana-samadhayo'stav-angani."
"The eight limbs (asta angani) of yoga (which are yama, niyama, asana, pranayama, pratyhara, dharana, dhyana, and samadhi) work as mutual synergists together in order to create a beneficial momentous whole."

6. "II 30. Ahimsa-satya-asteya-brahmacarya-aparigraha yamah"
Ahimsa ( non injury). Having an attitude of non injury in thought word and deed helps us in overcoming our fears which are in large part totally unfounded where we see others as enemy or competitors. It is the outcome of our adaptation skills and is related to our instinct of fight or flight. It is related to the central nervous system and element Fire (force). This then helps in overcoming the basic instinct Fear plus the ancestral ego and the ill effects of the elemental force Air.

Satya (Truthfulness). In order to evaluate something properly we need to focus our attention on it. Attention is a function of energy and the psyche would prionritise the expenditure of energy in accordance with needs which in its evaluation are important to it. Sticking to truth creates a sort of artificial crisis and forces our mind to the resolution of the issue at hand. We have our escape routes so well laid out that we do all tasks in a state of hypnotic sleep. This may be said to produce heat which is akin to the elemental force Fire.

Asteya ( non stealing). Greed is related to the basic instinct of survival the very same reason that makes the Indians predisposed to fat bellies. Greed is symbolized as the elemental force Earth and this acts as an antidote to dissolve Greed as elemental force Water. It is also related to our circulatory system ( blood & air). This harmonises our relationships and makes us respect the principal of interdependence.

Aparigraha (Non accumulation or hoarding). To purify the elemental force Earth or Greed.

Brahmacharya ( Continence). Due to lethargy all our mental energies or thoughts are directed to meet our needs of pleasure and satisfaction. Intentionally focusing on the pursuit of truth which in this tradition was symbolized as Brahaman, the aspirant was asked to dwell on it with all ones energies. Now it requires no brainer to see that all our energies are high jacked by sexual fantasies. For something new to be created one needs space, Brahmacharya gives an opportunity by freeing our energies if we are pursuing pleasure within bounds which do not cause conflict and harm to society. This frees the Space elemental force. This helps in developing reason.

7. "II 32. sauca-samtosa-tapah-svadhyaya-isvara-pranidhanani niyamah"
"Niyama consist of saucha (purity), santosha (contentment and peacefulness), tapas (spiritual passion and fire), swadhyaya (self study and mastery), and isvara pranidhana (surrender to the Universal Great Integrity of Being)."
These are to purify the elemental forces Earth, Water, Fire, Air and Space respectively. The aforesaid are to apply corrections to our Reptilian brain governing the need for security (food), the mammalian brain with its need of herd instinct (circulatory system) and the ancestral Ego or Central nervous system. Besides they help in further development of our emotions and reason.

8. Pranayama or regulation of Pranic energy. Commonly translated as breath control this is a known practice of Hatha yoga and deals with harmonic deep breathing. It is for purifying the Heart or Sentimental brain and bringing forth high EQ (Love).

9. Prathyahar Withdrawal or restraining of senses. It is for purpose of enhancing our Intellectual brain and has an aim to make Space available to it for New Perceptions. Senses constantly bombard us with inputs & they get filed in the old cabinets thereby providing no novelty or freshness which helps brain renew itself and experience an emotional imprint at the same time as one perceives a stimulus.

10 To sum up the system is a method of transforming the Five brains which are formed due to the action of five elemental forces and their evolution. This then truly is a way of White Magician in which there is no secrecy.