bonya basu's picture

Average: 5 (3 votes)


Aum..... Symbol of Para Brahman

Bhu..... Bhu –Loka (Physical plane)

Bhuvah..... Antariksha-Loka (Asrtal plane)

Svah..... Svarga –Loka (Celestial plane)

Thath..... That, Transcendent, Paramatman

Savithur..... Ishvara or Creator

Varenyam..... Fit to be worshiped or adored

Bhargo..... Remover of sins and ignorance;Glory,

Devasya..... Resplendent ( JananaSwarupa),Shining

Dheemahie..... We meditate

Dhiyo..... Intellects, Buddis, Understandings

Yo..... Which, who

Nah..... Our

Prachoedayaath..... Enlighten, guide, impel


The Gayathri is the universal prayer enshrined in the Vedas…the most ancient scriptures of man.It is addressed to the immanent and Transcendent Divine which has been given the name “Savita”,which means…”That from which is all born”.

The Gayathri may be considered as having three parts:
1) Praise… 2) Meditation and… 3) Prayer.
First , the divine is praised, then it is meditated upon in reverence, and lastly, an appeal is made to the Divine to awaken and strengthen the intellect,
discriminating faculty of man.

“Aham” is the Divine swara (sound) in the beings. All other sounds have emerged from “Aham”. That is the reason the term “Sabdabrahmam” came to be used.Every little moment and incident results in sound; only, you may not be
able to hear,because the range of your ear is limited.The falling of an eyelid over the eye makes a sound, the dropping of a due in a petal makes a sound. Any little
agitation disturbing the calm is bound to produce sound.
The sound caused by primal movement that resulted in the enveloping of Brahman by self-enveloped Maya is the Pranavasabda or “AUM”.

The Gayathri is the elaboration of that Pranava and so, it is held so venerable that initiation into Adhyatmic life is achieved by its contemplation.

The Gayathri Mantra is regarded as Ved Matha (the mother of the Vedas).
It is considered as Vedasara or the essence of the teachings of Vedas.
“Veda” means knowledge and the prayerfosters and sharpens the knowledge-yeilding faculty. Each of the four Vedas has a core axiom enclosed in it :
That thwam asi (That thou art), Prajnanaam Brahma *(Consciousness is Brahma), Ayam Atma Brahma (This Self is Brahma) and Aham Brahmaasmi( I am Brahma). When all these are synthesized, the Gayathri emerges.
Savita is the presiding Diety of the Gayathri.